Homemade Facewash : Wash your face with oil?!

 I have finicky skin. I break out so easily and have cystic acne. It doesn’t seem to matter what kind of facewash I use or how often…I still break out. My skin often gets all dry also because I use products to try to clear up the acne. Yesterday a coworker brought me a little present…homemade facewash. At first I was worried about it…ok I was really worried about it…I’m going to clean my pizza-face with oil?! That’s about like putting muddy water in the washer to wash my clothes! I won’t even try new kinds of makeup because I know there’s always the chance of a pizza-face disaster! But… I really liked the idea that I wasn’t putting weird chemicals on my face so I was brave and tried it…I mean how bad can it get, right?

 I put the oil solution on my face and rubbed it in. Then I warmed a washcloth and placed it over the oil until the washcloth cooled to room temperature. It steamed my face and felt awesome. After the cloth had cooled, I gently wiped away the oil solution. My skin felt so clean and tingly (probably from the tea tree oil) yet not squeaky clean. This morning I just used a warm washcloth to gently wipe my face! My face wasn’t oily this morning like I expected!  I’m halfway through the day and I don’t feel greasy (which was a major fear for me). I think this cleanser is a keeper! My skin has never felt so good…seriously! I’m so excited!

 

 

If you want to try it, here’s the recipe:

Normal skin : 1 tsp olive oil, 1 tsp castor oil, a couple drops of tea tree oil

Acne-prone/oily skin : 1 tsp olive oil, 2 tsp castor oil, a couple drops of tea tree oil

Dry skin: 2 tsp olive oil, 1 tsp castor oil, a couple drops of tea tree oil

Olive oil moisturizes, castor oil cleans, and tea tree oil is a natural antispetic that will help clear acne.

Choose your mixture above and mix it into a small squeeze bottle of jar of some kind. I’m using the normal skin one right now since that’s what my coworker brought me.  It seems good even on my acne prone skin.

Leave me a comment and tell me how it goes!

Leave a Reply

